Successes, Failures, & Obsessions

Success :: Went to Dublin, Ireland – It was amazing and I had such a great time & made a new Scottish friend in the hostel!

Failures :: Everything went wrong in Dublin! – My travel buddy never made it from Notts to the Emerald Isle, I only had my iPad for pictures as traveling with my DSLR is a pain in the ass (and it is kinda sorta broken :()- which means I only took one picture, I got massively inebriated,  & missed my flight back to Notts.

<–This was my breakfast/lunch in Dublin.

Obsession :: Irish Accents!! ❤

 

 

 

Success :: Turned in two pieces of coursework. Got the first of them back yesterday with a decent grade!! The way it works is you get a certain percent and those fall in brackets – I can only remember the top two brackets, which are Merit and Distinction. I ended up with a Merit on my first essay, which is really good! It is mega hard to get a Distinction.

Failure :: Handing coursework in early seems to be impossible for me. It reminds me of the quote from He’s Just Not That Into You movie, “You love it because you feed off that drama. You all love that drama. So you never wait until the last minute on a deadline or a phone bill… …because secretly you love the drama…” – It feel like coursework may just be the drama I thrive off of! – We’ll see what the next result it to see if it works for me.

Obsession :: Reading anything that isn’t my homework! Just finished rereading Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice. Going to the library later to find something else to read (thinking Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett) that isn’t homework related.

Success :: I’m a published designer!! Like for real! Look at my handiwork! Isn’t it beautiful? Alright I can’t take all the credit (thanks Luke, Alix, and Sophia!! best design team ever!) Impact is University of Nottingham’s student magazine – written, photographed, and designed by the students @ Notts. – I also designed an add for my sister a while back – I wonder if that ever made it into print….

Failure :: Designing this issue led to even further delinquency of my coursework. Also, I’ve been looking for a job in Notts and failing in the design field because I have zero Web skills… I tried to learn HTML coding when I first moved to FL, but gave up… now I regret not taking any sort of web design for my minor at Kendall.

Obsession :: Anything to do with design (e.g. blogs, Twitter feeds, etc.) If you have any print stuff or logo design you would like to hire someone else to do – let me know! I won’t charge much and may even do it pro bono just to stave off the boredom of the upcoming holidays (though please remind me that I have 2 more, way longer essays to write before 16 Jan 2012, but don’t remind me that I turn 25 in less than 30 days.)

In other news…                                                                           

I set up my mini Christmas tree in my room – it is mega cute with the addition of the tiny bulbs I found at Ikea when I first moved over here. I’ve also created a garden of origami tulips above the head of my bed because my room was feeling a little dull with the English Winter rains clouding up my skylight. I have a week and a half until the end of term, then Paris to look forward to for Christmas – can you say ice skating on the Eiffel Tower? – Look out for another post from me after that joyous occasion. I think that’s all the news from this side of the pond!

Fin.

 

Leave a Reply

