Chicago

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I spent the day in Chicago yesterday. I didn’t have tons of cash to burn so it was a pretty laid back day. My roommate, Kate, and our friend, Deanna, got up at 5:45am and drove to Michigan City, IN to hop on the train into the city. While we were waiting for the train, we saw the most amazing mustache ever! (pictured above) We went to the Bristish Consulate-General and were denied at the door. I guess their website was wrong when it told me they had walk-in hours for questions. I didn’t let that ruin the day.

We went to Lincoln Park for crepes at Crepe and Coffee Palace on Clark. Like the last time I was in Chicago, the food was absolutely amazing! I got the Crepe D’Amour which is a crepe stuffed with dark Belgian Chocolate and fresh raspberries. I also LOVE their Algerian Mint tea with honey, which was again incredable despite the 82 degree temp. The atmosphere of the resturante is charming as well. I think it is family run because we had the same waitress that we did last summer. The music made me want to dance and eat at the same time.

After fulling our bellies we went to the Lincoln Park Zoo. We were inside the zoo for all of about five minutes because the droves of children were overwhelming. Instead of looking at the caged animals, we decided to sit out side and watch the uncaged ones (aka people watching). Chicago is certainly a great place to find curious looking/dressed people.

After getting our fill of the locals/tourists outside the zoo, we headed to Chinatown. Not going to lie, I was a little disappointed. I’m not particularly fond of Chinese food, and that was really all we could find. There was one shop in the Chinatown Square that sold little trinkets, none of which I couldn’t go find at a chain store in MI. So after that we decided it was time to head home.

Great day to be outside walking around Chicago!

AND- I made it home in time to go to a bon fire!

Fin.

Leave a Reply

